Milwaukee Film Blog

posted by Blyth on October 12th, 2012

Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence in the House of God
Mea Maxima Culpa: Subject Arthur Budzinski, Director Alex Gibney, Subject Patrick Kuehn and his son Hercules. (Photo credit: Jennifer Johnson)

The Milwaukee Film festival is proud to announce the 2012 Allan H. (Bud) and Suzanne L. Selig Audience Award Winners:

Best Feature Film: Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence In The House Of God (dir. Alex Gibney)

Best Short Film: Magic Piano (dir. Martin Clapp)


The festival hosted the U.S. Premiere of Oscar-winning filmmaker Alex Gibney’s newest documentary, Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence In The House Of God, with Gibney and several subjects of the film in attendance. Centering on four courageous students at St. John’s School for the Deaf in St. Francis, WI, the film exposes the clerical sex abuse scandal in the Catholic Church and a cover-up that leads all the way to the highest offices of the Vatican. The HBO Documentary Films production Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence In The House Of God received this year’s coveted Allan H. (Bud) and Suzanne L. Selig Audience Award for Best Feature Film. Past recipients of this MFF award include Waiting for “Superman” and Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire.


The 2012 Milwaukee Film Festival, presented by the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, concluded its 15-day run Thursday night with the official Closing Night Film, The Sessions. Presenting 225 films from 47 countries, this year’s festival experienced significant growth in nearly every category, including a 40% increase in attendance.


Read the complete end-of-festival press release here.